I’ve spent much of the past year and a half feeling sorry for myself.

In August of 2010, my husband John and I decided to move our family to Lincoln, NE for a new job opportunity and to be closer to family. I resigned from my wonderful position as a first grade teacher, rented out our home in Madison, and plunged head first into our new adventure in Lincoln.

By early winter of that year it became painfully obvious that I was in “teacher purgatory”.  It is a term that I use to describe the position that many experienced and educators find themselves in after choosing to relocate after several years in the field. I had simply too much experience and a master’s degree that simply “priced” me out of the public school system.

Essentially, I was unemployable.

Fast forward to January 2012.

We have two small children, which means that the only solitude I am able to enjoy is very early in the morning.

On this particular morning I was sitting in my favorite easy chair enjoying my coffee illuminated only by the range light in the near by kitchen. I realized I had a choice to make. I was done waiting for other people to find value in me. I needed to CREATE my next opportunity on my conditions and by my rules.  Now was the time to reach out of what I had always known as safe and to CREATE something that best represents me.

Blush was born.

